top of page

My course - First Semester


Door in Basel

It's time to choose my course that I will follow for one semester (until the end of December).

BACHELOR OF BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION


During the DUETI I will follow the Bachelor of Business Administration (International Management) programme at the FHNW.


At the beginning of the semester the International Office gave me a schedule full of courses. I had the choice between courses of the first, the second, the third year and context course. Personally I have decided to take only thrid year course and context course.

Be careful ! Sometimes there are conflict schedule because some courses are teaching at the same time. You are not allow to take two courses at the same time : you have to make a choice!


Before confirming definitely which courses I would like to follow for the first semester, I had two weeks of "Try-Out-Period". It means that during these weeks I could go at all courses to try them and decided which one I will register.


Then, I sent a list with the selecting courses - called learning agreement - at IUT Paris Descartes in order to get the approbation/signature of my sending university. Once I got this confirmation I presented it to FHNW.



COURSES TAKEN DURING MY FIRST SEMESTER


I have decided to follow these 8 courses bellow for my first semester:


Major Marketing (6ECTS): 3rd year course

Strategic Marketing (3 ECTS) - International Marketing and Consumer Behavior (3ECTS)

Very interesting courses where I had individual and group cases, individual reflection assigment per week and a final exam in each courses.


Minor Digital Media I (3 ECTS): 3rd year course

Very lively course about social networks, new technologies... I didn't have a written exam but I had a paper and a presentation in group on a successful or failed business model of a company (we choose the French company of car pooling BlaBlaCar).


Minor Intercultural Management (3 ECTS): 3rd year course

Interesting and nice course where a lot of guest speakers introduced us to intercultural conflicts and how to deal with them. I didn't have a written exam but I had an individual paper (describe and analysis of a cross cultural incident) and a group presentation of intercultural encounters.


Negotiation and Conflict Resolution (6 ECTS): 3rd year course

It is a really interesting course where I learnt a lot. I didn't have a written exam but I had two papers: one in group and the other individually. We choose the subject of "The Paris Agreement" during COP21. In group we had to describe what happen before, during and after the Paris Agreement where for my individual part I had to analyse negotition aspects that take place during the agreement. I dedided to focus on developing and developed countries and their weight in negotiation through a SWOT analysis.


International Politics and Economics (3 ECTS): 3rd year course

The exam is a big multiple choice question and 2 open questions. You have the possibility to realize a presentation to have bonus point for your exam. In group, we worked on the success through trade with the example of Taiwan.


De-contructing Europe (3 ECTS): context course

It's a really interesting context course to enrich your general knowledge on Europe annd the EU (history/composition of the EU, free trade agremment, the EU and Switzerland...). I didn't have a written exam but I had a presentation and a final paper in group of 4 on the subject of "The CETA Agreement" (we choose the subject).


Foreign Views of Switzerland (2 ECTS): context course

Great and interesting context course you should take to discover Switzerland and for what this country is well known. There are no exam but you have to write an individual final paper where you choose the subject.


German for beginners (2 ECTS): context course

Basic tools (vocabulary, conjugation, morphology and basic syntax) to communicate in daily situations at an elementary level. It can be useful to understand and speak German in Switzerland especially in German part (even if Swiss people speaks Swiss German and understands German). I had a written exam.

Posts récents
Tags
Archives
bottom of page