top of page

It's time to take stock


What did this experience bring me? Did it open my mind on my way to work, to behave towards other cultures? What did I learn?


MORE PLEASANT

I really appreciated Switzerland's quality of life. Thanks to its mountains the air is so pure which is very notable when I went running (I can't smell the pollution like in Paris). Seeing the mountains everywhere, even at university is very cool. I've learnt about myself and I've changed my habits (became more patient) and discover new things (like hiking). Besides its magnificent landscapes, trust and respectful belong also to the quality of life in Switzerland. For example, I can leave my laptop charging in a classroom during lunch break and I'm certain that anyone will steal it (idem for having your ski on a special coach of the train).


Swiss students at the FHNW are really nice. It was easy to talk and to have fun with everyone even if you didn't really know them before. Maybe it's because they know how it is to be an Erasmus student (they did their exchange program the first semester of their second year).


The cultural diversity of Switzerland is also really interesting. Swiss students are not one hundred per cent Swiss but a lot of them have another nationality. Some of them are half Italian/half Swiss, half German/half Swiss or half Venezuelan/half Swiss and so on. It was also a pleasure to meet international students from the USA, Canada, China, Japan, South Korea, Colombia, Mexico, Sweden, Finland, Lithuania, Russia, Spain, Germany, the Netherlands and Italy. I am very pleased to have done this year abroad. I met new people that became through each semester friends. I also learnt a lot on other cultures: how to behave (politeness, manners) and how to work with different cultures. It was a real source of wealth!


In addition improving my English I learnt so many things during classes. The quality of Swiss education is at the extent of its reputation. All the teachers have a huge background with really interesting work experiences. Most of them are working in a company and are teaching in the same time courses at the university. Most of the time they use their professional experiences to provide us examples and it makes the course more attractive. Thanks to the FHNW, I had the chance to go to Swiss main companies's HQ (i.e Novartis, ABB) or to participate at events like Basel World that is the most important marketplace and trendsetting show for the world's watch and jewellery industry.


Living at 10 minutes to the capital allowed me to go over there very often and enjoyed cultural places and exhibitions of the city. Bern is also located at a key point in Switzerland which gave me the chance to travel all over Switzerland and even abroad. Obviously you will have to work during the year but the DUETI is also a great opportunity to meet a lot of new people, to build many strong friendships and to discover new cities and countries. It was a marvelous experience for me.

LESS PLEASANT

It’s hard to find less pleasant points because I really enjoyed this experience abroad. However I would say that one of them is the cost of life which is more expansive than in France. But good news, the Swiss government offer to all the exchange students a grant which the amount depends on the origin of your university (for France you will receive 360 CHF per month).


About eduction, you have to know that the level at the FHNW is quite high. It's not so easy to pass. Compare to my last year this year was more challenging because all my courses were taught in English and it's harder to learn in another language than your mother tongue. In addition I should have at least 4 out to 6 to pass a semester. Hopefully I passed all my courses for the first semester!

To be graduate of my DUETI I should validate 60 ECTS minimum plus I have to prepare my exams and orals for the following year. That's why a good organization is a key element during this year!


I didn’t have the same friendship relation with international students than with the Swiss. I'm a little bit disappointed to haven't met Swiss students on my own (I mean by that outside university). In my dorm there were a few of Swiss and they were so shy that it was complicated to have a conversation with them or to spend time with them because they weren't at the student lodge during week-ends.


In any case I am ready to renew this extraordinary experience without any hesitation!


DUETI 100% TESTED 100% APPROVED

EnregistrerEnregistrerEnregistrerEnregistrerEnregistrerEnregistrerEnregistrerEnregistrerEnregistrer

Posts récents
Tags
Archives
bottom of page