top of page

Swiss Education System



One of the main differences in FHNW compare to IUT Paris Descartes is that in addition to teaching at FHNW, all our professors are also working in a company, for the government or for an organization. It makes your courses really attractive and interesting because they can share with us their work experiences. In the continuity of my course, I have the intervention of guest speakers. It's very enriching to have the experience of a professional added on my course.


A strong diversity is perceptible at the university. Teachers and students come from all around the world. Even if everyone speaks in English, there are different accents At the beginning I had to preak up my ears but afet I am used to it and it's become quite easy to understand.



SWISS / FRANCE EDUCATION SYSTEM


E-mail address: connection between you and the university

As well at the IUT Paris Descartes I have my own e-mail address based on this form:

first name.last name@students.fhnw.ch

This e-mail address is very usefull because it ensures you the connection with the FHNW. I downloaded this Outlook apps to check up my e-mail everyday. I receive all information from my teachers, the international office and students asociation concerning my course (changing of rooms, modification of timetable, international lunch), the payement of my rent or the next event/party organized.


Moodle platform

Like the IUT Paris Descartes, FHNW uses a Moodle platform. At the beginning of the semester for the courses I had chosen, I needed to register with a password given by the professor.

On the Moodle platform there is everything: all the PowerPoint slides (I just take notes in class), courses description, deadlines to submit individual and/or group work, mandatory or advised readings (e-books, articles, business) and schedulde.

All the assigment should be submit online. I didn't need to print and bind my file as I was used to at the IUT.


Courses

When I compare FHNW and IUT Paris Descartes, I have more or less the same amount of courses (around 30 hours per week). Given that my professors work, they can be absent due to business trip. Thus, some of my courses are deleted. My timetable is flexible and change weeks per weeks that's why I always have to check my schedule on Moodle.

Besides, on my 7 courses I only have 2 final assessments (Major marketing and International Economics and Politics) that will take place in January whereas in France, I have a final exam for each course (16 per semester).


Prepare before and participate in class

At the begining I was very suprised by the amount of readings I should prepare before class. For example, I have to read chapters, teacher's slide, business case before class. I wasn't use to that. Last years, I didn't have the slides of the course and I should take it. I think, it's better because in class you are more focus on what the profesor said than write the slide and it's easier to participate.


Give your point of view, share yours experiences and feelings

Students are able to interact each other or with the teachers thanks to the forum on Moodle. The forum is useful to ask questions, share your individual or group work or to give your opinion.

In Deconstructing-Europe course, we share a forum with students from the University of Conventry in England. All students can share their point of view and their knowledge by interacting together on issues relatived to the EU (BREXIT, migration to and within the EU, refugees crisis, EU and terrorism, Europe and its trade, European Cultures or European Culture...). It allows me to develop my broader outlook and understand other cultures.

In international marketing, I should submit every week my individual reflection about the course by using the "Be, Know, Do" framework.



GRADING SYSTEM


Between the IUT Paris Descartes and the FHNW, the grading system isn't the same. In FHNW all the grades are out to 6.0 (whereas in France is out of 20) and I have two or three marks maximum in each courses. It means that my final grade in one subject only depends on one mark. It can be a final exam, a paper, a presentation or a mix of everything!








Posts récents
Tags
Archives
bottom of page